Reckless By Speed

A majority of Virginia reckless driving tickets are classified as Reckless by Speed. If you drive more than 20 miles per hour over the speed limit or over 80 miles per hour, you can be charged with reckless driving by speed.

Virginia Code 46.2-862 Exceeding Speed Limit:
 

A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.

Reckless Driving; Generally

A police officer could cite you for reckless driving, if that officer feels that your driving endangers life, limb, or property.  Speed is not a component in this charge.

Virginia Code 46.2-852 Driving a vehicle recklessly, in a manner that endangers life, limb, or property:
 

Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.


Whatever the issue, I am committed to representing your legal needs and protecting your rights.
Contact me today to schedule a free consultation.

 

Whatever the issue, I am committed to representing your legal needs and protecting your rights. Contact me today to schedule a free consultation.

Whatever the issue, I am committed to representing your legal needs and protecting your rights. Contact me today to schedule a free consultation.

Reckless Driving

Fast Facts About Reckless Driving In Virginia
 

  • Virginia reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor.

  • Reckless driving is a criminal offense, and carries a potential fine of $2,500, and a potential jail sentence of 12 months.

  • Reckless driving carries six DMV demerit points

  • Your license could also be suspended up to six months.

  • A reckless driving conviction in Virginia stays on your Virginia DMV record for 11 years.

Learn what steps to take after a traffic offense.

Download your free guide of

Ten Things to Do After Receiving a Traffic Violation. 

Additional Reckless Driving Charges

Virginia Code 46.2-864: applies to parking lots, driveways, and premises of churches, schools, public buildings, industrial establishments, and highways not yet open to the public.

 

Virginia Code 46.2-829: overtaking or passing an emergency vehicle that is operating its lights or siren.

 

Virginia Code 46.2-853: operating a vehicle "not properly under control" or with "inadequate or improperly adjusted: brakes. 

Virginia Code 46.2-854: passing or overtaking a vehicle on a curve or approaching a grade or crest. 

Virginia Code 46.2-855: driving a vehicle that is loaded in such a way as to obstruct the driver's view or prevent proper control of the vehicle. 

Virginia Code 46.2-856: passing two vehicles abreast, going the same direction. 

Virginia Code 46.2-857: driving two abreast in a single lane, in the same direction.

Virginia Code 46.2-858: overtaking or passing at a railroad crossing.

Virginia Code 46.2-859: failure to stop for a school bus.

Virginia Code 46.2-860: failure to give an adequate or timely signal when turning, slowing down, or stopping. 

Virginia Code 46.2-861: driving too fast for conditions.

Virginia Code 46.2-863: failure to stop at an entrance to a highway from a side road.

Virginia Code 46.2-865: racing two or more cars, on highways, roads, parking lots open to the public. 

(757) 898-4805

(757) 898-5084

7100 George Washington Memorial Hwy, Yorktown, VA 23692, USA

© 2020 by Law Office of James R Elliott |Privacy Policy| Created with Wix.com