The Virginia DMV Point System
In Virginia, there is a point system used that can negatively or positively impact your driving record. This point system is used to determine insurance rates and is also used by the court system. Outlined below is some general information about the DMV point system and how it operates. Demerit Points - These are assigned when you are convicted of a traffic violation and remain valid two years from the date that you commit the offense. Some more serious offenses will stay on your driving record longer than two years and if you have a commercial driver's license can even remain on your driving record permanently. Each time that you commit a traffic offense, DMV adds additional demerit points to your record. Some common offenses that can result in six points on your driving record are: - Reckless driving - DUI - Driving on a suspended license - Racing - Passing a school bus - Passing or overtaking an emergency vehicle - Failing to give proper signal A speeding ticket 10 miles an hour over the posted speed limit is 4 demerit points if convicted. Anything 1 to 9 miles an hour over the posted speed limit is 3 demerit points if convicted.
These negatively impact your insurance rates and if you accumulate 18 points within 12 months or 24 points within 24 months the DMV may suspend your license. Safe Points - These are assigned for each full calendar year that you hold a valid Virginia driver's license and drive without any violations or suspensions. You may also earn safe driving points by completing a driver improvement clinic. You can accumulate a total of +5 safe driving points and may use these points to offset demerit points. If you were recently given a reckless driving or speeding ticket and need an attorney to represent you call the Law Office of James R. Elliott at 757-898-4805 or visit www.robelliottlaw.com today.